connecting

It’s funny how you can go years without seeing someone and when you finally talk about you realize you had nothing in common with them except that you both existed at the same time and place? Or how with other people you can meet again after years and its as if you’ve never really been apart?

Yesterday I met with one of those friends. She moved back to Germany two years ago and I hadn’t talked to her since. I was a little bit nervous because I don’t do well in social situations, especially with people I don’t know really well. But we got to talking about our lives, our futures, our interests, our fears, our dreams, etc for hours. It was like it had been days not years.

Connecting with her so well made me start to question some of my current relationships. Am I missing this connection with my current friends? If we didn’t talk for two years, would we have anything more to say? Are we just a product of being in the same place at the same time?

Sometimes I feel as if I don’t really fit well with the people around me because we prioritize different things. I have yet to meet someone in America who prioritizes travel, living abroad, learning languages, finding adventures, etc over finding a stable job and moving to a yellow house in the suburbs with 2.5 kids and a cute cat. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with this life it’s just not what I want. For me personally, I’ve always put seeing the world and going somewhere new over my career and my relationships.

Are there actually people here like me? Am I just looking in the wrong places?

Leave a comment